FIRST LOOK AT WB/DC’s “SUICIDE SQUAD”

Please! Please, just spare me the bull! I know I’m late. But as I have stated before in previous Blogs… It’s been a busy month!

That being said. Let me give you folks my thoughts on our first few glimpses at WB/DC’s “SUICIDE SQUAD”.

Not to long ago, SS Director, DAVID AYER  gave us our first taste of the SQUAD, by tweeting this picture.

image

Well.. It’s very… DC! Which is strange to say. Cause this is the same people that gave us the Orange/Green of Aquaman, Bright Blue/Red of Superman, Bright Green of Green Arrow and Green Lantern. The company that started the “Bright Colored Heroes” is the same Company that gives us these.. “Bland, Single-Toned Color” films and pictures… It’s Weird!

In the photo we got, from left to right,  Slipknot, Captain Boomerang (or Boomerrang) Enchantress, Kitana, Rick Flagg, Harley Quinn, Deadshot, Killer Croc, and El Diablo.

El Diablo and Slipknot (who sounds like he belongs in G.I Joe) are completley unknown to me. When I first heard there was going to be an Enchantress in Suicide Squad, I honestly said, “Wait! She’s from Marvel! What the fuck?!” Has no clue there was an Enchantress in the DCU. Kitana, as far as I know, should be a member of The Birds of Prey, and has never been in the Squad in any variation. Again, as far as I know. The surprising inclusion to the Squad, for me at any rate, is Killer Croc! Clearly standing in for King Shark. I am also a little bit surprised that WB is going with a more practical effects approach with Croc.

image

I would not say I’m disappointed, (well maybe a little) But, it appears they are going with a more life-like Croc then some CGI monstrosity such as this look from Arkham Asylum…

image

Or as he looks in the comics as of late. What I DO like is his resemblance to the Arkham Origins version of Croc…

image

And the classic look of the BATMAN THE ANIMATED SERIES..

image

On those two bases alone I’m willing to give this approach a chance. But WB/DC has a record of bastardizing some of their best characters.. I pray that Croc isn’t one if them.

Will Smiths DEADSHOT looks.. Well… image

He looks fucking awesome! From the mask, down to the gear! So cool! I’m still not sold on Smith himself, not to say that he is not talented.. He Is! But, I just don’t know of he’s right for the character.  That being said, fantastic job on the costume!

HARLEY QUINN!!

image

My God! Margot Robbie looks like she was born to play Harley! I HATE this look though. (Well maybe hate is a strong word..) Okay… I LOTHE THIS LOOK! (Hmm.. That word is kinda worse.. But I’ll just leave you be) Was THIS!..

image

Too hard to design?.. Fuck that! How about THIS!!?…

image

What the fuck!?  “Hey, costume designers!! The job was already done for you dicks! All you had to do was make it!” for fucks sake! (Calm down buddy) *inhale… Exhale* Word is, there are three different costumes for Harley Quinn. So this may not be the final look she has in the film.

Not much is known about the plot of the film. But I really hope it’ll be like ASSAULT ON ARKHAM!

image

(In all honesty I would have preferred this set of characters over what we got instead.. But that’s just me!)

AoA, had Amanda Waller sending the team to infiltrate Arkham Asylum and apprehend The Riddler for her. The Joker showed up and all hell broke loose. Assault is by far the BEST, DCUA movie to date. Amongst the current crap they have been producing as of late.. “I’m looking at you ‘Son Of Batman'”

AGE OF ULTRON SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (I think that’s enough, with the exclamation points. Thanks) I called the Death of… QUICKSILVER since the very first trailer! I’m not one to say I told you so.. But I fucking told you so! NOW! I feel confident enough to do it again. This IS “The Suicide Squad” sent to do suicide missions,  cause they are in fact.. Expendable! El Diablo, Slipknot. Aaaaannnnndddd either Rick Flagg or Enchantress are all going to bite the dust by the end of this movie. (All of them?!) Give or take one or two. But I’m sticking with my choices.

All in all.. I appreciate what DC/WB is trying to do, and where they are trying to go. I can dig it… For now. Funny thing,  Out of what DC has in store for us.. I’m more looking forward to this then anything else.. Which, come to think of it, I really fucked up! Batman v. Superman is coming!! Why am I not more excited for that?!? Gosh darn it, DC/WB!

Let me know your thoughts! Follow my blog, leave a comment. Hit me up on Twitter:@sgsonny70 or Instagram:@marvel_inc2099 and please subscribe to my Youtube Channel The Marvel Inc. Show! It ain’t much yet.. But I’m working on it!

So, until next time folks.. Peace out!

 

Leave a Reply

