“ANT-MAN!”: MOVIE REVIEW (NO SHIELD. NO ARMOR. NO PROBLEM!”

“Armed with a super-suit with the astonishing ability to shrink in scale but increase in strength, cat burglar Scott Lang must embrace his inner hero and help his mentor, Dr. Hank Pym, plan and pull off a heist that will save the world.”

THIS MOVIE WAS FUCKING AWESOME!!

image

I am going to do my very best not to spoil anything for you folks out there who have not seen “Ant-Man!” And if you happen to be one of those people.. What the fuck is wrong with you!?!?

THE STORY:

image

Michael Douglas stars as Hank Pym. The original Antman and creator of the ‘Pym Particle’. The very particle that allows him to shrink to the size of an insect. After a very personal disaster occurs. He pledges his life to making sure, his discovery never falls into the wrong hands. Several decades later, He is surprised to find that his former protege, and now PYM TECH CEO Darren Cross..(Corey Stoll)

image

Has found his formula and plans to militarize it. By creating a mass supply of ‘Super-Suits’ called, “THE YELLOW JACKET” After he warns Cross that such tech is too dangerous, Pym Recruits ex-con Scott Lang (Paul Rudd)

image

to help steal back the formula along with the help of Pym’s estranged daughter, Hope Van Dyne (Evageline Lilly).

image

Director, Payton Reed. Had the difficult task of being the guy replacing the beloved Edger Wright. The original brain behind Ant-Man. (We already know what happened there.) But, Payton did a Fantastic Job with the direction of the film. It really is a Heist, Action, Comedy Film! It balances itself so well on all three categories, without losing sight of what the story is about. Which is in fact an awesome story. Filled with some really cool EASTER eggs. Clever dialogue. The Special Effects were top notch. The blend of the ant-world and human size world was so well done and used to perfection. (The shrinking didn’t get played out)

THE CAST:

MICHAEL DOUGLAS..

image

I was not at all very keen on playing Hank Pym. I was among the crowds that were like, “WTF? He’s to old to play Pym! Why are you getting an old guy?! What are you doing Marvel? What kind of story are you going with!?” But, in the long run… He was perfect! Don’t get me wrong.. I wasn’t questioning his acting talent.. I just didn’t think his level of.. ‘Star’ fit this universe. On the contrary, He played Pym exactly as I would imagine Β him to be if he were old in the comics. Quick to temper, headstrong, over protective, smart ass, genius! And I’m glad it’s Douglas.. I can’t think of anyone else who could have done a better job!

PAUL RUDD..

image

My first thought when they announced Paul as Ant-Man I was like.. “Hmm he’s going to play Hank Pym?! Hmm.. He is a good actor.. It’s gonna be a little weird, but I trust Marvel. I’m sure he’ll be great.” Thank god that didn’t happen! HE’S PERFECT AS SCOTT LANG! I love this guy even more! He was funny, charming, sincere, and a little badass! It’s a great idea that they went with Scott Lang.. Hank Pym has a very topsy turvy comic career. (Hero turned villain turn hero again, pill popper, wife beater. Not a lot of likable qualities!) Scott in the other hand is ripe with lovable character traits, and Rudd played them beautifully! He fits perfectly within the Marvel Universe.

EVANGELINE LILLY..

image

I LOVE EVANGELINE LILLY!! Since her ‘LOST’ days. (Didn’t care for how they used the character.. But that’s another story.) She was perfect! Her ‘character’, Hope, was created for the film. But her Character, was more like the original Wasp, Janet. The only difference was that she was more of a full of herself person. Of course, as we get to know her. She’s a kind person.. Just very sure of herself and Β tough. I can’t wait for her to become the WASP in later Marvel films. She’s a great addition to the MCU.

COREY STOLL..

image

A really good actor. A great villain. Stoll’s YELLOW JACKET was a delight to watch. But.. (I’m skating near Spoiler Territory.. So bare with me.) Marvel is slowly improving on their Villains department. But still have a problem with maintaining and utilizing them. Darren Cross is a great example of that.

THE CREW:

image

Michael Pena stole every scene he was in. So funny, it was rediculous. T.I and the other actor played their parts perfectly. No complaints here.. But Pena was the standout. Now, last. But certainly, not least..

ABBY RYDER FORTSON:

image

By far the cutest child actor I have ever seen! She is so damn adorable as Scott’s daughter Cassie Lang. I hope Marvel signs her to a huge deal for when she grows up! Cause I would LOVE to see her become STATURE later on. Unfortunately.. Hollywood isn’t as patient.. So I wouldn’t be surprised when we see a different, older Cassie in the sequel.

THE NEGATIVES:

For such a great film. I felt like it left me wanting more. It could have been at least another half hour longer. The editing felt just a bit rushed and the timing of the events within the film felt choppy. Darren Cross was just days away from perfecting the formula, and yet it felt like Scott was training for weeks. The timeline did not add up for me. There were slight moments where you could be like.. “Oh come on! There’s no way!” For example: Darren Cross changing in to the Yellow Jacket Suit! I still can’t wrap my brain around how the hell he did that so fast! Β The miss handling of the Yellow Jacket character. And That’s just about it.

OVERALL:

image

Marvel Studios has added another great franchise to its ever expanding roster. While many would scoff at the idea of an ANT-MAN movie. It really is a great film. I personally am willing to put it up there with the best of the best. Right behind Guardians of the Galaxy! Despite it’s technical flaws and its poor use of yet another villain. I greatly enjoyed ANT-MAN! I give it.. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 8/10! I highly recommend anyone to go see this film. RIGHT NOW! It’s the last film of Marvel’s Phase 2, and is a true joy to watch.

Thats it folks! Hope you enjoyed this review! Let me know if you would like to read a full SPOILER REVIEW Version of this blog. Where I can go a little deeper. Let me know if you liked this review at all! PLEASE SUBSCRIBE! Thx for reading!

So, until next time folks… Peace out!

 

Leave a Reply

