WEEKEND MOVIE REVIEWS!: “LA LA LAND” vs “MOONLIGHT” (The Best Picture Debate prt. 2)

Welcome to the second Part to the ‘Best Picture Debate’ that I have with myself between “LA LA LAND” and “MOONLIGHT”. Part 1 was a review of Moonlight, This one.. 

“LA LA LAND” 

THE STORY: A jazz pianist falls for an aspiring actress in Los Angeles.. 

Just want to say quickly… 

FUCK YOU LA LA LAND!! FUCK YOU! FUCK YOU! And FUCK YOU! 

It is a simple story. They meet cute. They fall in love. Careers start growing and failing and then… FUCK YOU LA LA LAND! 

Ok.. Im gonna be as honest as possible. First 10-15 minutes.. Wasn’t really feeling it much, besides the opening dance/song number. (loved it enough to download it to my mp3. “Another Day Of Sun” great song. Catchy beat.) Anyhoo.. Then Ryan Goslings character showed up and everything was going great! 

I think i may have a Man crush on Ryan Gosling.. (thx a lot La La Land.. Fuckers!) Anyways.. The whole Love Affair between Emma and Ryans’s character was awesome and beautiful. Loved every minute of it! But then shit started getting shitty.. 1.. Just 1 bad desicion on Ryan’s part fucked things up and then things got good. Then things went fucking sideways.. I hated the ending.. I hated it! That is why i say.. “FUCK YOU LA LA LAND! And your little 12 year old looking Director.. FUCK YOU!” 

SPOILER ALERT!! 

THEY DON’T END UP TOGETHER! There.. I said it.. They gave me a beautiful love story, and they ripped my heart out! 

THE CAST: A wonderful cast. Ryan is a fucking star. He should have won best actor at the oscars. I have a feeling he’s going to be another Leo DiCaprio. Great performance after great performance, nomination after nomination.. And then finally, when he does a pretty good role aftdr a really great one, He’ll win an Oscar. Emma Stone.. She was alright. Dont think she deserved the Oscar though.. And in honesty. I hated her character. If and When you see it.. I think you’ll understand why. But she was okay. 
THE POSITIVES: There is a reason why these types of movies arent made anymore.. Because Gene Kelly and Fred Astaire and all those stars of that bygone era, are Dead! These movies died with them. It was nice to see it here. Even for just a bit. The dance numbers were cool. The music was great. The story.. *sigh* was wonderful. For the most part.

THE NEGATIVES: That Fucking ending though! Ruined the whole damn thing! Kinda.. But yea.. It fucking sucked.

OVERALL: “LA LA LAND” is in fact a beautifully shot and well paced movie. Acting. Style. It was a good movie. The ending however.. Kinda hurt it for me.. I give La La Land a score of 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟6/10. 

Keeping in mind how both films made me feel and the experience they gave me respectively.. I believe, “MOONLIGHT” desreved the Best Picture Oscar. From Beginning to End it had me focused and in to the story. La La Land wasn’t that consistent for me. Opening Number aside, i did not care about the beginning of the story until midway through it. The middle was the best part. The end ruined it for me. It pulled the rug right out from under me. And I honestly did not appreciate that about the film. 

Both.. Beautiful film and movies are better off for having them exist.. But, Moonlight deserved the win in my book. 

What do you folks think?! Hit me up!

Until next time folks… Peace Out!

2 thoughts on “WEEKEND MOVIE REVIEWS!: “LA LA LAND” vs “MOONLIGHT” (The Best Picture Debate prt. 2)”

    1. I know right!? Like wtf? And they had the nerve to give us the perfect What If! They could have made it work! And not only that.. It makes Emma’s character look like a total Ass! She couldn’t call him in those 5 fucking years?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

